Author Event Sessions

Time Title Type Locationsort descending

Sunday, June 28 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Christine Baldacchino (Groundwood Books / PGW) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1327
Description :

Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress
A sweetly told story about the courage and creativity it takes to be different.

Morris is a little boy who loves using his imagination. He dreams about having space adventures, paints beautiful pictures and sings the loudest during circle time. But most of all, Morris loves his classroom’s dress-up center — and the tangerine dress. But the children in Morris’s class don’t understand. Dresses, they say, are for girls and astronauts don’t wear dresses so he is not welcome in the spaceship they are building. Warm, dreamy illustrations perfectly capture Morris’s vulnerability and the vibrancy of his imagination.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 27 - 9:00am

9:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Kip Noschese (Three Lanterns) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 142
Description :

Otto & the Grand Prix Bees
Otto is a bear with a unique talent for racing. It's a talent that requires drivers to be fearless. Otto has only one fear. BEES! When he crosses paths with some very smart bees that love racing as much as he does, he might need to overcome his fear if he wants to win.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 27 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Laura Ruby (HarperCollins Children's Books) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3100
Description :

Bone Gap
From acclaimed author Laura Ruby comes a fascinating, powerful, and wholly original teen novel about a beautiful girl who is kidnapped from a quiet Midwestern town and imprisoned by a mysterious man, and a boy, the only witness, who cannot forgive himself for being unable to identify her kidnapper.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event
1:00pm - 1:30pm
Meet the Authors: Judy Freeman (ALA Publishing) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
ALA Store
Description :

The Handbook for Storytellers
Ideal for both beginners and more experienced storytellers, this exhaustive primer includes everything adults need to start sharing the wonder of stories with children, from babies to tweens. The lively text imparts easy-to-follow guidelines and practical advice on how, when, where, and why to tell stories.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 27 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:00am
Meet the Authors: Mac Barnett & Christian Robinson (Chronicle Books) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3124
Description :

Telephone, Leo
Telephone: This uproarious interpretation of a favorite children’s game will get everyone giggling and is sure to lead to countless rereads.

Leo: This charming tale of friendship is destined to become a modern classic that will resonate for years to come.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 28 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Jacqueline Woodson (Children's Plus, Inc.) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3039
Description :

Brown Girl Dreaming
In this 2015 Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King winning book, Woodson shares, through beautiful poetry, what it was like to grow up in the 1960s and 1970s in both the North and the South.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Monday, June 29 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:30am
Meet the Authors: Dan Santat (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1219
Description :

The Adventures of Beekle
Winner of the 2015 Caldecott Medal

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 28 - 11:30am

11:30am - 12:30pm
Meet the Authors: Robin Newman & Deborah Zemke (Creston Books / PGW) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1327-1328
Description :

Wilcox & Griswold: The Case of the Missing Carrot Cake
When food goes missing on Ed's farm, Detectives Wilcox and Griswold do what it takes to track down the thieves. In this case, Miss Rabbit's carrot cake has disappeared. Has it been stolen? Or eaten? Or both? Who dunnit?

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 27 - 1:00pm

1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meet the Authors: Diane Mott Davidson (HarperCollins Publishers) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3101
Description :

Goldy's Kitchen Cookbook
Beloved mystery writer Diane Mott Davidson delivers a cookbook full of mouthwatering recipes and charming anecdotes.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 27 - 3:00pm

3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meet the Authors: Katherine Applegate (HarperCollins Children's Books) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3100
Description :

The One and Only Ivan
Winner of the 2013 Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller! This unforgettable and uplifting tween animal story explores the power of friendship, art, and hope with humor and touching poignancy.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 28 - 12:00pm

12:00pm - 1:00pm
Meet the Authors: Sarah Rafael Garcia (International Latino Book Awards) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3138
Description :

Barrio Writers 5th Edition
The anthology is an educational resource of diverse youth writings presented in English, Spanish and Spanglish. The comprehensive collection includes bios and activities to inspire others to share their own words—ultimately empowering teens from all backgrounds through creative writing, higher education, and cultural arts!

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Monday, June 29 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Susan Katz (Scholastic) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3224
Description :

ABC School's for Me!
grades PreK - K

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Friday, June 26 - 5:30pm

5:30pm - 7:00pm
Meet the Authors: Icy Smith (East West Discovery Press) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3738
Description :

Three Years and Eight Months
Based on true events during World War II, the book tells a compelling journey of hardships and human endurance of ordinary people in Hong Kong during the Japanese occupation. A 10-year-old Chinese American boy secretly joins the Chinese war resistance group to help save the lives of thousands of prisoners of war, as well as allied forces. Historical notes and photographs documenting the Japanese occupation included.

A recipient of 14 national book awards including 2014 Foreword Reviews Book of the Year Award Gold Winner; Chinese American Librarians Association Best Book Award; Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 28 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:30am
Meet the Authors: Hanna Dennison (Macmillan Adult) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1009
Description :

Deadly Desires at Honeychurch Hall
In the tradition of Louise Penny and G.M. Malliet, a charming and witty whodunit, set at an English manor house, the second book in this amazing series.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 27 - 11:00am

11:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Suzi Eszterhas (Owlkids Books / PGW) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1331
Description :

Koala Hospital
A close-up look at life in a koala rescue center, KOALA HOSPITAL Hospital kicks off the new 4-book Wildlife Rescue series from Owlkids Books. Stunning photos by award-winning wildlife photographer Suzi Eszterhas give readers a rare view of koalas and the care they receive as they are rehabilitated for return to the wild. This non-fiction book includes an author Q&A with common questions from kids and an author’s note about small-scale ways that kids can help save koalas.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Monday, June 29 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Adriana Trigiani (HarperCollins Publishers) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3101
Description :

All the Stars in the Heavens
Set during the golden age of Hollywood, ALL THE STARS IN THE HEAVENS captures the luster, drama, power, and secrets that could only thrive in the studio system—viewed through the lives of an unforgettable cast of players creating magic on the screen and behind the scenes.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Sunday, June 28 - 9:00am

9:00am - 10:00am
Meet the Authors: Carlos Harrison (International Latino Book Awards) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3138
Description :

The Ghosts of Hero Street
The true, inspirational story of twenty-two Mexican-American families on a single street in a small Illinois town who sent fifty-seven of their children to fight in World War II and Korea – more than any other place that size anywhere in the country.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Saturday, June 27 - 2:00pm

2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meet the Authors: Patrick Ness (HarperCollins Children's Books) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3100
Description :

The Rest of Us Just Live Here
What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes, there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Award-winning writer Patrick Ness’s bold and irreverent novel powerfully reminds us that there are many different types of remarkable.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Monday, June 29 - 9:00am

9:00am - 12:00pm
Meet the Authors: Michael Smith (East West Discovery Press) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 3738
Description :

Thomas the T. rex
Nine-year-old Thomas and Rita embark on a journey to Montana for a fossil hunting and study expedition with the Junior Scientist Club of the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles. Thomas discovers a 66-million-year-old dinosaur nicknamed Thomas—one of the ten most complete T. rex skeletons in the world.

Through the eyes of Thomas and Rita, young readers learn about the T. rex and how dinosaurs lived, as well as the basics of excavation and the preparation of fossils for their public debut in the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles. An Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Monday, June 29 - 10:00am

10:00am - 11:00am
Meet the Authors: Kwame Alexander (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) Author Event Moscone Convention Center
Exhibit Hall - Booth 1127
Description :

The Crossover
In this Newbery Award-winning, middle grade novel in verse, twelve-year-old twin basketball stars Josh and Jordan wrestle with highs and lows on and off the court as their father ignores his declining health.

Sponsors :
UNO
Unofficial Event

Pages